Graduate Council Meeting Minutes 12:00 pm, Wednesday, March 4, 2020 140 Toomey Hall

Meeting called to order at 12:05pm

- 1) Roll Call by D. Oerther
 - Present: G. Olbricht, S. Stanley, M. Moats, J. Winiarz, D. Oerther, S. Sedighsarvestani, G. Markowsky, R. Puslenghea, S. Corns, K. Perry, L. Gertsch, C. Kueny, C. Chua, A. Adekpedjou, L. Alagha, D. Fischer, M. Insall, V.P. Reddy, S. Roberts (Interim Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs), S. Raper (Curricula Committee Chair)
- 2) G. Markowsky moved to approve February 12, 2020 minutes; S. Corns seconded. Approved.
- 3) President's Report
 - Pre-a) Thanks for lunch. Thanks to those who assisted with our special Graduate Faculty meeting.
 - a) Graduate Faculty does not need to seek approval from Faculty Senate when proposing changes to the Graduate Catalog, Per CRR 300.030 (Faculty Bylaws of the Missouri University of Science and Technology)
 - Presentation by Sahra Sedighsarvestani who explained: 1) changes to policies on campus have created some confusion as to who is responsible for what in terms of vetting changes with faculty; the hope is to improve two-way communication and increase faculty participation in governance; 2) language in by-laws/CRR creates confusion as to parallel or hierarchical relationship among Faculty Senate and Graduate Faculty.
 - b) Updates to internal processes and applications for full and associate Graduate Faculty membership on the website (https://gradfac.mst.edu/membership/)
 - Clarifying discussion ensued
 - c) Nominations Needed for Faculty Standing Committees
 - Budgetary Affairs (2 year term / elected by Graduate Faculty in May)
 - Jeffrey Winiarz Expired July 2019
 - Nominated by Council
 - S.N. Balakrishnan Expired July 2019
 - Nominated by Council
 - Personnel (2 year term / elected by Graduate Faculty in May)
 - Matt Insall Expired July 2019
 - Nominated by Council

- Campus Curricula (2 year term / elected by Graduate Council)
 - Kyle Perry Expiring July 2020
 - Elected via acclamation
- d) Nominations/Elections Needed for Graduate Council End of Year Banquet Awards Committee (A call for awardee nominations will also be forthcoming from the Office of Graduate Studies via email)
 - Jeff Winiarz, self-nominated
 - V. Prakash Reddy, self-nominated
 - Jade Sinnott, self-nominated
- e) Nominations/Elections Needed for Graduate Faculty President and Secretary for 2020-2021 (Elected by Graduate Faculty in May)
 - Matt Insall, President
 - Nominated by Council
 - Dan Oerther, Secretary
 - Nominated by Council

Meeting adjourned at 12:44 pm